Wilfrid Laurier University Graduate Calendar - 2017/2018
Canadian Excellence

Graduate Studies - History and Structure

Graduate studies at WLU began in 1964 with the initiation of Master of Arts programs in geography and in romance languages. Since then, Laurier's graduate degree program offerings expanded to 11 doctoral degrees, 31 master's degrees, and 3 graduate diplomas. In 2009, the Faculty of Graduate Studies was renamed the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (FGPS), and is responsible for the appointment of postdoctoral fellows at Wilfrid Laurier University. The FGPS provides information, administrative support, and advocacy, as well as helping to facilitate enrolment, placement and training opportunities for postdoctoral fellows. 

Graduate Programs Offered

The following graduate programs are currently offered at Laurier:
  • Graduate Diploma in accounting
  • Master of Arts (MA) in communication studies, community music, criminology, cultural analysis and social theory, economics, English, geography, history, philosophy, psychology, religion, culture and global justice, social justice and community engagement, sociology 
  • Master of Applied Computing
  • Master of Applied Politics
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA)
  • Master of Education (MEd)
  • Master of Environmental Studies in Geography (MES) 
  • Master of International Public Policy (MIPP)
  • Master of Finance (MFin)
  • Master of Kinesiology 
  • Master of Music Therapy (MMT)
  • Master of Science (MSc) in integrative biology, chemistry, geography, management, mathematics, psychology
  • Master of Social Work (MSW)
  • Doctor of Philosophy in biological & chemical sciences, English and film, geography, global governance, history, kinesiology, management, psychology, religious studies, social work (PhD)

Waterloo Lutheran Seminary, a federated seminary of Wilfrid Laurier University, offers through the university the following programs:
  • Graduate Diploma in spiritual care and psychotherapy
  • Master of Divinity (MDiv)
  • Master of Divinity/Master of Social Work (MDiv-MSW)
  • Master of Arts (MA) in Theology
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Human Relationships