Wilfrid Laurier University Undergraduate Academic Calendar - 2017/2018
Canadian Excellence

Faculty of Science

Dean, Faculty of Science: Paul Jessop, PhD
Associate Dean: Student Services: Bruce McKay, PhD
Associate Dean: Priorities & Planning: Kenneth Maly, PhD
Academic Advisors: Maureen Coulter, BSc, BEd, Khaleel Hosein, BA
Web address: https://wlu.ca/academics/faculties/faculty-of-science/index.html
Telephone: (519) 884-0710, ext. 2425
: Science Building, Room N1048

NOTE: Our official means of communication is with your Laurier email accountStudents are expected to regularly check their Laurier email account for important notices from the university community. Students are required to send emails to official members of the university community from their Laurier email account in order to verify authenticity and ensure delivery. Emails sent from non-Laurier accounts, such as hotmail, may be identified as spam and not delivered. Furthermore, it is impossible to determine whether the emails received from these non-Laurier accounts are coming from the person they claim to be from. Your co-operation is appreciated.

The Faculty of Science is composed of the Departments of Biology, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Health Sciences, Kinesiology & Physical Education, Mathematics, Physics & Computer Science, and Psychology. Honours (four-year) and general (three-year) programs leading to a Bachelor of Science (BSc),  Bachelor of Arts (BA) and Bachelor of Kinesiology degree are available. In addition, students may choose to complete, as secondary programs, one or more of a large number of available options and minors. The successful completion of a secondary program will be recognized on the student's transcript at graduation.

Concurrent honours degree programs offered by the Faculty of Science and the School of Business & Economics are available which may be completed and result in the awarding of two undergraduate degrees.

Non-Faculty of Science Courses

Numerous degree programs within the Faculty of Science require an elective credit 'outside the Faculty of Science'. This consists of any course offered by the Faculties of Arts, Human and Social Sciences, Liberal Arts, Music (MU), Education (EM), the Lazaridis School of Business and Economics and the Waterloo Lutheran Seminary (GC).    

  • BA (Honours) - Honours Bachelor of Arts
  • BSc (Honours) - Honours Bachelor of Science
  • BKin (Honours) - Honours Bachelor of Kinesiology
  • BSc - General BSc without Designation
  • BA - General BA without Designation
  • CombBA (Honours) - Honours Combination or Joint (BA)
  • Op - Option
  • Mi - Minor
  • CombBSc (Hons) - Honours Combination or Joint (BSc)
  • BBA (Honours) - Honours Bachelor of Business Administration
  • Conc - Concentration
  • Spec - Specialization
General BA without Designation BA
General BSc without Designation BSc
Management Option (LSBE) Op
Applied Mathematics Option Op
Applied Water Science Program CombBSc (Hons)
Biology BA (Honours) | BSc (Honours) | CombBA (Honours) | CombBSc (Hons) | Op | Mi | Conc | Spec
Chemistry and Biochemistry BSc (Honours) | CombBSc (Hons) | Op | Mi | Conc
Criminology Minor (Faculty of HSS) Mi
Environmental Science Programs BSc (Honours) | Op
Health Sciences BSc (Honours)
Kinesiology and Physical Education BKin (Honours)
Mathematics BA (Honours) | BSc (Honours) | CombBA (Honours) | CombBSc (Hons) | BBA (Honours) | Op | Mi
Physics and Computer Science BA (Honours) | BSc (Honours) | CombBA (Honours) | CombBSc (Hons) | BBA (Honours) | Op | Mi
Psychology BA (Honours) | BSc (Honours) | CombBA (Honours) | CombBSc (Hons) | Mi
Science (SC) Courses