Centre for Teaching Innovation and Excellence

Director, Centre for Teaching Innovation and Excellence: Sandra Hughes, BA, MA, MEd shughes@wlu.ca, ext. 4104
Associate Director: Academic Development: Joseph Beer, BComm, MComm,  jbeer@wlu.ca, ext. 4734
Manager, Faculty Programming: Jeanette McDonald, BASc, MSc, EdD, jmcdonald@wlu.ca, ext. 3211
Manager, Centre for Online Learning: Lisa Fanjoy, BA, MA, lfanjoy@wlu.ca, ext. 4106
Manager, Educational Technologies:  Mary Scott, BA, BEd, mscott@wlu.ca, ext. 4722
Manager, Academic Program Development & Review: Sally Heath, BA, MA, ext. 4017, sheath@wlu.ca
Manager, Community Service-Learning: Gail Roth, BA, groth@wlu.ca, ext. 3714
Marketing and Communications: Denoja Kankesan, BA, dkankesan@wlu.ca, ext. 3507
Office Location: Room 294, Second Floor, 202 Regina Street North
Office Hours: Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Email: conted@wlu.ca, edev@wlu.ca, lccsl@wlu.ca, cslbrantford@wlu.ca, pts@wlu.ca, onlinelearning@wlu.ca and ctie@wlu.ca
Website:
www.wlu.ca/ctie

The Centre for Teaching Innovation and Excellence is comprised of a number of distinct departments with interconnected and varying responsibilities. These departments include,

Centre for Online Learning (OC)
The Centre for Online Learning is involved with the development and delivery of online learning course offerings and programs.

Community Service-Learning (CSL)
Community Service-Learning facilitates integrated and engaged learning opportunities for students both inside the classroom and through practical service in the community. Through targeted placements and projects, students are able to connect their academic course curriculum to real life experiences.

Continuing Studies (CS)
Working with Laurier faculty, Continuing Studies develops and offers not-for-degree-credit programs and course offerings that align with the expertise of Laurier's faculties.

Academic Programming
Academic Programming is focused on supporting a culture -that promotes the sharing of ideas and strategies between colleagues -around teaching and learning. We partner with other units across the institution to offer programming, certificates, and resources for faculty, departments, academic staff, graduate students, TAs/IAs, and postdoctoral fellows.

Educational Development (ED)
Educational Development works to foster and advance a culture that values excellence in teaching and learning at Laurier. We partner with other units across the institution to offer programming and resources for faculty, departments, academic staff, graduate students, TAs/IAs and postdoctoral fellows.

Educational Technologies
Educational Technologies provides support and guidance to Laurier faculty who wish to use technology in their teaching. Supported systems include MyLearningSpace, Turnitin and iClicker.

Part-time Studies (PTS)
%E2%81%9E%E2%81%9Ep=3222">Part-time Studies provides support to part-time, adult students completing programs at Laurier.

Quality Assurance Office (QAO)
The Quality Assurance Office provides curriculum-oriented and administrative support for new program development, cyclical program review, and program modification.